Thursday, December 28, 2006


Terry Pratchett is a British author who writes in the fantasy genre.

The Discworld series is his main series. The stories all take place on a world called, of course, The Discworld. It is a flat world which balances on the backs of four elephants which are, in turn, standing on the back of a giant turtle named “Great A'Tuin” who travels through space. The series would, I think, count as comic as well as fantasy.

Color Of Magic
Light Fantastic
Equal Rites
Wyrd Sisters
Guards! Guards!
Eric (with Josh Kirby)
Moving Pictures
Reaper Man
Witches Abroad
Small Gods
Lords And Ladies
Men At Arms
Soul Music
Interesting Times
Feet Of Clay
Last Continent
Carpe Jugulum
The Fifth Elephant
The Truth
Thief Of Time
Last Hero
Night Watch
Monstrous Regiment
Going Postal

There are also several companion books to the discworld series such as

The Science of Discworld
The Science of Discworld II: The Globe
The Science of Discworld III: Darwin's Watch

Good omens : the nice and accurate prophecies of Agnes Nutter, witch
(with Neil Gaiman)
The Discworld Mapp
The Discworld Portfolio (a collection of Paul Kidby's artwork, with notes by Pratchett)

The Discworld Companion (an encyclopedia of Discworld information, compiled by Pratchett and Briggs. An updated version was released in 2003, titled The New Discworld Companion.)

Nanny Ogg's Cookbook (a collection of Discworldly recipes, combined with etiquette, language of flowers etc., written with Stephen Briggs and Tina Hannan)

The Art of Discworld (a collection of Paul Kidby's art. In case youdidn’t guess, he illustrates pratchett’s books. His pictures are awsome.)

The Discworld Almanak (an almanac for the Discworld year, in the style of the Diaries and the Cookbook, written with Bernard Pearson)

Where's My Cow? (a Discworld picture book referenced in Thud!, written by Pratchett with illustrations by Melvyn Grant) I thought it was the coolest thing when I stumbled across it.

I’m not sure that this next series has an exact title so I’ll just call it the Tiffany Aching series. It’s about a young girl who is learning to be a witch and who has the help, sometimes wanted and sometimes not, of the Nac Mac Feegle. The Nac Mac Feegle aka Pictsies or the Wee Free Men or the Little Men, or “Person or Persons Unknown, Believed to be Armed” are a type of fairy (but don’t call them that) . Picture this, a person only in inches tall, with flaming red hair, blue skin, dressed in kilts with scottish accents and a love for getting drunk and fighting. The Feegles will fight anything up to and including themselves and each other. They have names like Rob Anybody, Daft Wullie, Awfully Wee Billy Bigchin, No'-As-Big-As-Medium-Sized-Jock-But-Bigger-than-Wee-Jock-Jock (yes that’s all one name) and Wee Dangerous Spike. They used to live in fairyland but according to them they left because they didn’t like it. Everyone else says they were kicked out for being drunk and fighting at 2 in the afternoon. This is a wonderful series. They are designated as books for young adults but I think people of any age will love them.

The Wee Free Men
A Hat Full of Sky
The Wintersmith

I haven’t read the following series or books.
The Bromeliad

The Johnny Maxwell Trilogy (these are designated as children’s books)
Only You Can Save Mankind
Johnny and the Dead
Johnny and the Bomb

Other works
The Carpet People
The Dark Side of the Sun
The Unadulterated Cat (with Gray Jolliffe)
Terry Pratchetts official website is located at .


Anonymous said...

soft for windows software,news mobile ,games


Anonymous said...

Mac OS X software,news driver ,games