Thursday, December 28, 2006


Terry Pratchett is a British author who writes in the fantasy genre.

The Discworld series is his main series. The stories all take place on a world called, of course, The Discworld. It is a flat world which balances on the backs of four elephants which are, in turn, standing on the back of a giant turtle named “Great A'Tuin” who travels through space. The series would, I think, count as comic as well as fantasy.

Color Of Magic
Light Fantastic
Equal Rites
Wyrd Sisters
Guards! Guards!
Eric (with Josh Kirby)
Moving Pictures
Reaper Man
Witches Abroad
Small Gods
Lords And Ladies
Men At Arms
Soul Music
Interesting Times
Feet Of Clay
Last Continent
Carpe Jugulum
The Fifth Elephant
The Truth
Thief Of Time
Last Hero
Night Watch
Monstrous Regiment
Going Postal

There are also several companion books to the discworld series such as

The Science of Discworld
The Science of Discworld II: The Globe
The Science of Discworld III: Darwin's Watch

Good omens : the nice and accurate prophecies of Agnes Nutter, witch
(with Neil Gaiman)
The Discworld Mapp
The Discworld Portfolio (a collection of Paul Kidby's artwork, with notes by Pratchett)

The Discworld Companion (an encyclopedia of Discworld information, compiled by Pratchett and Briggs. An updated version was released in 2003, titled The New Discworld Companion.)

Nanny Ogg's Cookbook (a collection of Discworldly recipes, combined with etiquette, language of flowers etc., written with Stephen Briggs and Tina Hannan)

The Art of Discworld (a collection of Paul Kidby's art. In case youdidn’t guess, he illustrates pratchett’s books. His pictures are awsome.)

The Discworld Almanak (an almanac for the Discworld year, in the style of the Diaries and the Cookbook, written with Bernard Pearson)

Where's My Cow? (a Discworld picture book referenced in Thud!, written by Pratchett with illustrations by Melvyn Grant) I thought it was the coolest thing when I stumbled across it.

I’m not sure that this next series has an exact title so I’ll just call it the Tiffany Aching series. It’s about a young girl who is learning to be a witch and who has the help, sometimes wanted and sometimes not, of the Nac Mac Feegle. The Nac Mac Feegle aka Pictsies or the Wee Free Men or the Little Men, or “Person or Persons Unknown, Believed to be Armed” are a type of fairy (but don’t call them that) . Picture this, a person only in inches tall, with flaming red hair, blue skin, dressed in kilts with scottish accents and a love for getting drunk and fighting. The Feegles will fight anything up to and including themselves and each other. They have names like Rob Anybody, Daft Wullie, Awfully Wee Billy Bigchin, No'-As-Big-As-Medium-Sized-Jock-But-Bigger-than-Wee-Jock-Jock (yes that’s all one name) and Wee Dangerous Spike. They used to live in fairyland but according to them they left because they didn’t like it. Everyone else says they were kicked out for being drunk and fighting at 2 in the afternoon. This is a wonderful series. They are designated as books for young adults but I think people of any age will love them.

The Wee Free Men
A Hat Full of Sky
The Wintersmith

I haven’t read the following series or books.
The Bromeliad

The Johnny Maxwell Trilogy (these are designated as children’s books)
Only You Can Save Mankind
Johnny and the Dead
Johnny and the Bomb

Other works
The Carpet People
The Dark Side of the Sun
The Unadulterated Cat (with Gray Jolliffe)
Terry Pratchetts official website is located at .

Wednesday, December 06, 2006

Piers Anthony

Piers Anthony writes both science fiction and fantasy. For those of you who didn’t know, “Yes, there is a difference between the two although they do sometimes overlap.” Some of his books are completely serious and some are just plain silly which is why I love his books. I haven’t read all of his series (here’s where my brother would cough and say “yet”)but the ones that I have read are here and also a list of the series I haven’t read.

The Xanth series is my absolute favorite out of all of his series. It appeals to the punster in me. I love the fact that he takes puns that his fans have sent him and tries to include them in the stories. Many of the titles are also puns. They all take place in the magical world of Xanth where magic is real everyone has magic talents and anything can happen.

A Spell for Chameleon
The Source of Magic
Castle Roogna
Centaur Aisle
Ogre, Ogre
Night Mare
Dragon on a Pedestal
Crewel Lye
Golem in the Gears
Vale of the Vole
Heaven Cent
Man from Mundania
Isle of View
Question Quest
The Color of Her Panties
Demons Don't Dream
Harpy Thyme
Geis of the Gargoyle
Roc and a Hard Place
Yon Ill Wind
Faun & Games
Zombie Lover
Xone of Contention
The Dastard
Swell Foop
Up In A Heaval
Cube Route
Currant Events
Pet Peeve
Stork Naked
Air Apparent (to be published sometime in 2007)

The Apprentice Adept series takes place on the worlds of PHAZE and PROTON. The two worlds occupy the same planets but in different dimensions and center around the character of a serf named Stile who stumbles on the dimensional barrier between the two. What happens when the serf from the technological dimension of PROTON enters the magical world of PHAZE? I guess you’ll just have to read and find out.

1. Split Infinity
2. Blue Adept
3. Juxtaposition
4. Out of Phaze
5. Robot Adept
6. Unicorn Point
7. Phaze Doubt

Now the Incarnations of Immortality is where Piers Anthony gets a bit trickier. What would it be like if the incarnations of Death, Time, Fate, War, Nature, Evil and Good were not just abstract ideas created to explain life but “offices” that could be held and passed on, each changing hands in a different manner. Take those “offices and set them in a reality that has developed the same as ours except for the “minor” facts that both modern technology and magic coexist. Imagine the possibilities. Good is synonymous with GOD, so never changes. He gets around this by using Night as one of the incarnations of immortality.

1. On a Pale Horse (Death)
2. Bearing an Hourglass (Time)
3. With a Tangled Skein (Fate)
4. Wielding a Red Sword (War)
5. Being a Green Mother (Nature)
6. For Love of Evil (Evil)
7. ...And Eternity (

The Mode series takes you in an altogether different direction. Like his other series it blends magic and technology. The main character is a teenage girl from earth named Colene. I won’t give away the plot, but she travels through many realities and universes, all connected by the virtual mode. These books touch on many serious topics interpreted in a way that you may not even realize such as personal honor, intelligent animal life, space travel, paradox gender roles and much more.

1. Virtual Mode
2. Fractal Mode
3. Chaos Mode
4. DoOon Mode

Kelvin of Rud series (written with Robert E. Margroff) What can I say. Kelvin, a prophecy and magic and alot of trying to save the world of course.

1. Dragon's Gold
2. Serpent's Silver
3. Chimaera's Copper
4. Orc's Opal
5. Mouvar's Magic

The series above are the only ones I have read. Here is a list of the series I haven’t read. The numbers beside each series title indiacate how many books are in the series as far as I know.
Aton (2)
Battle Circle (3)
Bio of a Space Tyrant (6)
ChroMagic (4)
Cluster (5)
Geodyssey (5)
Of Man and Manta (3)
Tarot (3)
Jason Striker series (written with Roberto Fuentes) (6)

There are also plenty of books not in a series. He has collaborated on several books with other authors as well. I would list them all but all of the short story collections, single books collaborations and autobiographical titles would take up too much space so once again I’ll stick with the titles I’ve read.

If I Pay Thee Not in Gold w/ Mercedes Lackey
The Gutbucket Quest
Dream a Little Dream w/ Julie Brady

If you want more titles or information about him his official website is at .